a gluten-free review, and a Plinky question!

I love this Plinky question –
If you were a flavour, what flavour would you be?
🙂

Okay, when I decided to cut out wheat gluten from my diet I knew I would have to find some fun things to satisfy me and help me to not feel deprived. It hasn’t really been an issue, in reality, because eating fresh and good foods doesn’t make you feel deprived at all! Like today – I’ve been working away at a seared tuna from the Abaco Inn. That or dessert? I’ll take the tuna!

We held the slaw and most of the sauces, and it was/is magnificent! I still have some left for breakfast today.

Yum.

Okay, so I didn’t know what the availability was around these islands and cays for gluten-free food, so my first panic reaction included some shopping at the Gluten-Free Mall. And rather than risk buying products that would arrive here and taste like cardboard, I did my ordering from the comments section of the website, where the customers write reviews of their favourite products.

This was not an inexpensive proposition! My $170 worth of GF products cost $125 to get into our wee cay, thanks to shipping and duties.

I thought I’d share with you the items I have tried, as I try them. And the first is a sort of cookie.

The outside is a Rice Chex/Rice Krispies sort of taste, though a tad sweeter. And it is in the shape of a tube, filled with a creamy darkish chocolate. A Nutella flavour might be even more fun! And there’s no skimping on the chocolate, either. It satisfies, especially if you like it darker.

There are just two to a pack, and only three packs in each box, for $3.53. Not too bad unless you have to ship them into the middle of nowhere!

My gratefuls – That I have access to great fresh food, fresh fish, and a few treats. That Hawaii 5-O was on last night. That I had some good naps on Monday after a try restless night. That hot baths soothe me so nicely…

Okay, so what flavour are you!?

~ by photokunstler on 22 November 2011.

14 Responses to “a gluten-free review, and a Plinky question!”

  1. I’d be peppermint with bits of peppermint in it. I’ve loved it for years and being pink makes it even better! Love, Mar

  2. Milk Chocolate….

  3. Garlic. Keeps the crowds away. ;~)

    And I can’t wait to hear what’s getting the cherries.

  4. Ah, peppermint is on my list of absolute faves too, Mar!
    Friendly’s Ice Cream Parlors in the US has a peppermint stick with peppermint in it, and I just love it! Lived on it one summer in college!
    So then I can’t understand why President’s Choice in Canada sicks in chocolate ribbons that totally overwhelm the taste of the peppermint!

  5. Yum Brigitte.

  6. Ha!
    That’s funny. I wouldn’t think of you as garlic, Judy. But it is nummy and does keep away – vampires? 🙂

    Our exterminator gave us some pro traps, so will report in when we know what it is stealing the cherries. Do you think it might still be Rudi, but he’s pretending we have a rat?

  7. No, I don’t think it’s Rudi. He wouldn’t get an exterminator if it were him.

  8. You sure? To keep up appearances? 🙂

  9. I bet it’s the bird… Billy hopes it is the bird.

  10. I haven’t been in a Friendly’s in years and years. Baskin and Robbins had wonderful peppermint, too. Love, Mar

  11. I love Friendly’s! I arranged all the trade-offs with the kids and the ex based on a Friendly’s. 🙂

  12. I will keep Billy posted, but something huge triggered the trap last night (and didn’t get caught) and the bird was in our bedroom…

  13. Yummmmm …… Friendly’s……… Mmmmm
    I was gonna say, how come the food in the box NEVER looks like the picture on the front? So deceiving!

  14. You’re very right, Meghan. It can be disappointing when you’re expecting a big fluffy cake, thick and juicy steaks, etc.

Comments are closed.