living to eat, part two

I am afraid I scared Brigitte into thinking I only eat sugar and gluten. Or used to eat sugar and gluten. Until that little gluten issue.
But those dessert photos were shot over seven years. And they usually followed photos of the main courses!

Because when you live to eat… and grow a chef daughter out of that love… you love every course! From apps to aperitifs.

And some of my more memorable entrees, salads, whatever!

Insalata Caprese, which I could eat daily for a long time and never tire of it.

The stock from the very first time (and the last time) that I ever prepared beef stock, per Kelsey’s instructions. It smelled like heaven while it was roasting, and the stock was phenomenal.

Whitecaps! A Bahamian treat.

An absolutely delectable tomato soup with Scotch egg, made by Chef Kelsey at a private dinner in our home.

Kelsey’s amuse bouche that most definitely did amuse.

Seared tuna and cole slaw – the best cole slaw on this wee cay – at the Abaco inn.

A nice, healthy omelet at the Hope Town Harbour Lodge.

Sushi. Yum.

Roast duck with lingonberry sauce a la Chef Kelsey.

And last, but not least, the truffle oil fries from Pink Bicycle in Victoria.

My gratefuls – That I am one half year older today. I celebrate half-birthdays. I am an only child, what can I say?
That I have lived and loved some wonderful food. That friend Sharyn came by today with some lovely watercolour books for me to peruse in my down time. That friend Mary returns from the US today to our wee cay with a clean bill of health. That I have a haircut on Friday with Monica – and that both Monica and haircuts are fun!

~ by photokunstler on 17 November 2011.

13 Responses to “living to eat, part two”

  1. Oof! Delectable photos! Love the caption 😀

  2. […] living to eat, part two « meandering minds… […]

  3. Thanks Munira! They make me hungry…

  4. Ha ha ha!!! You are making me hungry, Patty!
    Especially the dish under the caption with the beef stock…what it is, I want that recipe.
    I am so relieved that you have no issue with sugar – you have to be able to eat SOMETHING!!!

  5. You know what all that is, Brigitte?
    Roasted garlic and onions and beef rib bones and celery and whole herbs thrown on and wine…
    And then you throw it away! You just want the juicy bits to make a soup base.
    But man oh man I can tell you that those beef bones were amazing, delicious and the stock was great.

  6. I hope you are feeling better since you are trying to stay away from gluten. Enjoy those painting books but get those brushes yet!! we must see if we can chat on Skype.

  7. Yes, Ruth, not having gluten has taken away a lot of the sharp pain and acidity. Drinking some juice with baking soda is nice too. And being careful about what I eat – spices that are hot are not welcome yet!
    And I don’t want to wet my brushes without you. Can you come over?
    Yes, let’s make a time we can chat on Skype, for sure!

  8. Do you have the recipe for Kelsey’s beef stock? Or just wing it from the ingredients you mention? There are a lot of techniques that make a difference. I am a stock lover…

    Every Tuesday I get a roasted chicken from Whole Foods, and that makes a dinner and a few lunches. Later the bones are pretty good for chicken stock. So soup every week when it is cold. (Remember cold?)

    The Chicken Soup Cookbook by Janet Hazen has some amazing recipes so I am never bored. Her stock starting with raw bone-in chicken is lovely too, but my Whole Foods version could not be easier.

    But I want a better beef stock. Yours looks dark and silky and yum, yummy.

    Lisa

  9. I will post the recipe for you and Brigitte (and me) tomorrow. It is phenomenal, truly.

    We do the same thing with a roasted chicken, except that we don’t have the Whole Foods part. Wish we did. The last roast chicken we had made us sick to eat it, but when it was soup it was fine, and delicious!

    Stay tuned, Lisa!

  10. Thanks, Patty! I will have the roaster at the ready.

    Lisa

  11. Get ready to pre-heat, Lisa! 🙂

  12. Ummmm hello, flirt cupcakes with Meghan!!!!!!!! Way to forget me!

  13. I could never forget you, Punkin!
    I just didn’t include the shots from Flirt!
    We don’t want to worry Brigitte, you know. :-
    XXOO

Comments are closed.