some of our art!

This is just the Canadian art – I should show you the Bahamian art too!

Out of curiosity I went through our original paintings while we were in Canada. Between collarbone breaks and pain, that is!
And I was a bit surprised, but not totally surprised, to see that they were almost all watercolours.

Now I knew that I’ve loved watercolours from the beginning of time. But it was pretty cool to see just how much!
I shot some of the paintings for you, but not all because they required such weird angles to get a clear shot without lots of reflected light (and I didn’t have the energy to set up a light tent – maybe next time).

First I will show you the non-watercolours.

This is mommy. I guess this was painted around 1950, and she would have graduated high school in 1947. The original photo/painting is the inset, and my dad took it with him in the Korean War and had it mounted in the bamboo frame. I am not sure where it was painted, or colourized. I had the original, smaller thing mounted on silk and framed in the gold bamboo. Anyway, here she is!

And the oil – The Oil. Rudi’s uncle is a famous Dutch artist, and he offered Rudi one of his creations once. Rudi chose one. His uncle said no, that’s his best, and it wasn’t going anywhere. (His uncle finds it hard to part with his paintings. So do I!) Anyway, after some negotiation Rudi just asked him which painting he could have. And here it is –

Now, some of the watercolours.
The witnesses at our wedding were a Dutch couple in their late 80’s. And Judyth was a watercolorist.
This one is Rudi’s – daisies.

This is also Rudi’s, and Judyth’s. Mixed media.

When I chose from among Judyth’s paintings I always chose the landscape of Canada – I didn’t get a good shot of her white birch trees in winter, but here’s Ottawa in fall.

We chose the poppies for our clinic – this is one of the main remedies we use, and poppies are gorgeous flowers.
(Yes, it is lying on the ground sideways and has a crack in the glass that we just didn’t have the time to get repaired.)

And here’s a very simple, restful painting that I saw and absolutely had to have. It calms me, calls to me. The artist is a man in the Ottawa area who continues to paint wonderful paintings!

Our Bahamian art is much different than the Canadian art. I just wish we had more walls on which to display it all!

My gratefuls – The cleaning woman – she did a great job!! That I didn’t have to do a great job. That my house is immaculate and will stay that way for a day or two. That I had some drawing time today.

~ by photokunstler on 13 November 2011.

4 Responses to “some of our art!”

  1. I loved all of your art. My favourites were of course your Mum’s photo – love the expression on her face. And the abstract oil by Rudi’s uncle.
    Your show of all the art in Canada via Skype was wonderful, by the way!

  2. Thanks Brigitte!
    I should shoot it one day properly, in the light tent to get rid of reflections so you don’t have weird angles!
    Rudi’s uncle’s work is amazing, has evolved over the years too. We have a load of his graphics that we’ve never matted or framed, too. I’d love to do that one day.

  3. The reflections always get in the way, that’s why I photograph before it goes into the frame. Yes, you should mat the graphics someday…if you had another house with walls! I dream about a house with a view, and a long long wall on the opposite side for a gallery!

  4. Yes, but I think everything we have, or almost everything, was already behind glass when we bought it. The beauty of watercolours!
    So much easier to shoot an acrylic or oil, eh? Not that I love them!
    And yes, walls have plusses and minuses. I’d love more room for art, but I love the openness of rooms too…

Comments are closed.