12 Responses to “a sign, and some Plinky questions!”

  1. What an interesting language!

    I prefer the country.

    I don’t know what to think about Daylight Savings Time. I just want more light.

    The holidays? Thanksgiving, yes – Anegada. Christmas, not yet.

  2. If you know French, SS, then you can communicate reasonably in Creole.

    Country, an ocean paradise and light. Check! 🙂

  3. Live in the country

    I was grateful for the time change this year, needed the light in the morning but the nights I have my personal light join me at home on the boat.

    Not for this year, but I am looking forward to it, and I am having ideas for future Christmas’ but just flashes of stuff.

  4. Yes, Amanda – at night on the holidays you still have your personal light to join you at home on the boat!
    That’s wonderful. Perfect.
    Christmas will never be the same!! I love it.

  5. #1. What a question is that? Prefer the CITY??? You have got to be kidding.
    #2. I hate daylight savings time now, but do remember what it was for. When my children were young, going to school, I used to stand there with them waiting for the school bus in the dark.
    #3. No plan. Something will come up and we’ll get the spirit about a day before Christmas.

  6. Ha! Brigitte – the country is where cows are, this isn’t the country. It is paradise! 🙂
    Now in Canada kids can go to school in the dark and come home in the dark in winter, thanks to Daylight Savings. Ugh!
    And we don’t plan either. We’re always surprised at how quiet it is here over the holidays, sane, no big crazy malls, no massive worrying about gift-buying. It is lovely!

  7. I would like ANY countryside over any city… I hate the cold, but would much rather be in Maine in December than spend time in NY city in May. In fact, I prefer the company of most animals (including cows) to most people.
    Guess you are right about kids going to school and coming home in the dark in Canada… I did growing up in Hamburg. We didn’t think it was a problem, that was just the way it was.
    It does get nice and quiet here around the holidays, especially on Tilloo!!! Are you going to have any visitors this year?

  8. I kinda like cows more than some people too. And animals.
    And I like NYC in May, and Canada is fine in December and January for a few weeks. If it is snowing, if I am indoors and if I have a wood stove and some hot cocoa. 🙂

    Our 2011 visitors have come and gone. I think the next time they come will be in the early months of 2012. My babies haven’t chosen a date but they’ve chosen their month – April. Subject to change. And Rudi’s babies – we haven’t heard from yet.

  9. Is the ‘silvouple’ in the Creole sign the same as ‘s’il vous plait’ in French? 🙂 it looks suspiciously similar!
    And now for the Plinkies….
    I would love to think i’m a country girl, but have a niggling feeling I couldn’t do without the amenities that a city provides…at least in a country like my own.
    I hate daylight saving because let’s face it, we could really do with less sun in Karachi! i love the coolness night brings and prefer running errands or just generally going outdoors after sunset. Pushing it up just means I have to wait that much longer and by then it is time for all the shops to start closing! Real pain 😛
    Holiday season in the traditional sense is pretty much over, but we’re toying with the idea of travelling somewhere when school ends. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  10. You’re right, Munira! That’s “please.” And the languages are very similar, French and Creole. We have a guy on our island who is French, and he works great with the Haitians, and he has even volunteered in the school for the Haitian kids.

    I love city amenities too – to the point where, when we get into a city or a mall or something big and busy, I kind of stand there, starting, and not knowing in which direction to head. I want it ALL! 🙂
    Interesting thoughts on daylight savings time!! I like hearing your angle on it. And travelling how far? Do you like to go to a cool place, or another warm place? To see family? To explore new frontiers? My Canada friend Mary is heading to India in 9-10 weeks now (her daughters were born there) and that will be a big change for her eyes!

  11. I took a few French classes in my teens 🙂
    Actually, I’m just struck by wanderlust. I can go anywhere, see new places, new faces. I rather think I’d like to experience cold for a change, though I don’t need to go very far for that. Experiencing a different culture seems like a good idea too. Oh, the options are so many and there is so much of the world left to see! And the only restrictions are those of visa procedures….they take so much time!
    Oh, and I’d love to go to India too. It’s right next door, but so inaccessible still 😦 I’m deterred by the hassle Pakistanis face there. We actually need to report to a police station in every city we visit!

  12. I know wanderlust! And cold is great as long as you have the accoutrements that go with it – the hot chocolate, the fireplace or wood stove, a dusting of snow… That’s it.

    And that needing to report into a police station in India would just cancel out any interest I’d have in seeing the country! Sheesh. We’ll have martial law in North American soon enough, but we wouldn’t go looking for it in a holiday spot!

Comments are closed.