playing with filters in Photoshop

Since I haven’t been painting at all, and just doing some drawing and thinking about painting, I’ve been playing with my photos for a few days.

I have a new filter program from Topaz Labs that works in Photoshop, and I am a sucker for photo manipulation!
Don’t know if you are, but here’s what I’ve been doing.

Some things just lend themselves to B&W, and Rudi’s dad most definitely is one of those things!
(A thing? Sheesh!)

Or perhaps –

The princess puppy!

I like this filter – here’s the Abaco Rage looking a bit more like it might have looked in 1960!

Of course, the lighthouse and harbour would look about the same during that time.

Not sure if you find these interesting, or if you think it was all a waste of my time and money!
But I had fun, and that counts for something. πŸ™‚

My gratefuls – That I’ve exchanged some nice emails with some nice people for whom I care deeply. That I have every hope that, by the time you read this, I will have had a good night’s sleep. That Virgil is doing a great watercolour tutorial on wetcanvas.com and that I am following along, if not doing the painting… and I may even try the painting! That all the Christmas boxes have arrived at their destinations (where friends will hold them for Meghan and Kelsey), that Kelsey has received her birthday gift and that Seasweetie has received her book, “Racing in the Rain.” My mailing mission is now complete.

~ by photokunstler on 2 November 2011.

8 Responses to “playing with filters in Photoshop”

  1. The Abaco Rage photo is awesome! i had to keep going back to it. I hope you share it with all the sailors who were on board for that particular race.

  2. Thanks Mary!
    I shot the Rage from the chase boat this year, and got loads of photos. And I do need to get with Stafford so I can get some photos to him.
    JoAnn Goodwin says we’re all doing a Rage fundraiser – that we’re all painting the Rage and then selling the paintings to raise money for them. Have you heard that?
    I can get one of my better photos and make it into a giclee or something… We will see!

  3. Those are really lovely – the pictures of Rudi’s father are better than in color. But only 1960? Makes me feel really old…Love, Mar

  4. Well, 1970? How long ago did photos look like that, Mar? I don’t remember!
    I was 6 in 1960… but then we only had B&W so maybe it was later than 1960.
    You’re not old! You’re only in the collectible category, not an antique! πŸ™‚

  5. I am not a photo tinkerer, but I like your work. I’m a late adopter of all things, though – I still lament the passing of Fuji Velvia slide film. I hope you have had a nice night’s sleep, and I wish I could live in that little round house that I assume is the lighthouse keeper’s cottage.

  6. First one’s my favourite!

  7. Thanks Munira. He is a great subject!

  8. Thank you SS.
    I was an Agfa slide film gal. My first big trip was at 16 to Scotland, three generations of us! And the camera store recommended Agfa because it best captured the greens. I’d been shooting since 14 with a 35mm camera that I bought because Andy Cohen’s dad was selling it and I accidentally dropped it, and then owned it. 43 years ago!

    And Kocachrome! Mama don’t take my Kodachrome away!!

Comments are closed.