coming home to the aftermath

And it wasn’t necessarily Hurricane Irene that devastated a huge amount of foliage and property here, but an unnamed storm that came a week later – one that was barely mentioned on the weather networks or news reports.

And the most devastation in my life – my beloved passion fruit vine.
I guess if your house is safe and your greatest loss is a plant, you’re doing well. But still…
I know Cathy on Cat Island commiserates.

This is how she looked the day we left to visit family in Canada.

Our landscaper told me that she had to be “cut back” a bit due to damage.

Cut back a bit?

My pergola is open to the sky. Sheesh.
It used to be full and filled with fruit.


Here’s my passion fruit.

sniff…

On the other hand – this was our view when we left for Canada.

Nice, we could see some of the ocean but knew that as the coconut grove would grow, we’d see more coconut than ocean.

The coconut grove was hit pretty bad.

So we will see more ocean until there is more growth. I don’t love seeing the road and the beach path, but I know the foliage will come back. All that is supposed to be invisible.

The front of the house – our banana.

And plants – before.

And after – a bit thinner.

But not horrible. Though we shouldn’t really see that road either…

Our neighbour’s house, still boarded up, fared pretty well. Their back patio is above the beach, and Rudi says it is very eroded and dangerously cliff-like on one corner.

But their house protected all of our little plantlings on the lower road part of the house.

Which are growing nicely!

So, the weather gives and it takes away. I agree, as Steve Jobs explained, that death is the change agent. It is required in nature as much as in life. Forests have fires so the old is destroyed and the new can emerge. And now I see how that works on a tiny island in the south Atlantic, in the West Indies.

We will go for a drive later today and see how other spots on this wee cay fared.

My gratefuls – That we’re home and my tummy and energy are recovering from the two day’s journey it took to get here. That we have rain, lots of rain, so everything is green and growing. That Timou is a good boy and he remembers his words and sounds after our 10-week absence in his life. That Rudi is great at going to LVA and calling home and reading me the names/flavours of the ice cream so I can choose one.

~ by photokunstler on 25 October 2011.

14 Responses to “coming home to the aftermath”

  1. I shall add my commiserations for the passion fruit. But I’m glad your house is intact and nothing was damaged! As for the plants, I’m sure they’ll grow back in no time.
    As much as I enjoyed reading about your stay in Canada these last so many weeks, it’s nice to have you back where I first got to meet you 🙂
    Welcome back!

  2. Do you remember how fast the passionfruit grew when you put it in last year? It will be up in no time!

  3. Yes, Munira, we’re grateful the house is fine! The homes on the water were all sandblasted, and will need to be repaired and repainted. We’re right across the street from the ocean so we escaped that. And the new hurricane, Rina, seems to be content to stay southwest of Florida and Cuba, so we should be spared this weekend. Good thing!

    Thanks for the welcome back – it is good to be home here, as good as it is to visit family in Canada…

  4. I was trying to remember how fast it grew, Brigitte. I will have to go back through my photos of it and check. I remember it produced fruit really quickly once it had totally covered the pergola. I just don’t remember if it took one or two years to cover it all. Maybe Cathy can remind me if she’s reading this! She is on Cat and she lost her passionfruit as well, in Irene. 😦

  5. I am glad your house is fine, but oh, I too would be so very sad about the passion fruit and the palms. They look so frazzled, so sad. One season and they will all be back to their magical normal selves.

  6. You’re right, SS. It doesn’t take too much time for things to grow in a nice, warm, sometimes rainy (though not often!) paradise. I just want the passion fruit FRUIT. We loved it. And we will have it again. We just need to wait a while…

  7. Thank goodness things growly quickly there, but it does look pretty devastating to me! But you now have a beautiful view of the water 🙂

  8. Yes, Ruth – nature giveth and she taketh away!
    The larger view of the ocean is nice, for sure!

  9. =O =O =O =O Can’t believe how it looks!!!!! so depressing. Need to see pictures of the beach. Get Rudi to take pics!!!

  10. Interesting view of the palm trees toward the ocean. Driving by didn’t look so devastated, but don’t remember if I drove by before or after the unnamed storm. And the trees and bush in my area are now thicker than they were before the storms since we’ve had at least 26 inches of rain this month according to Rocky Bay’s website. All in your area will be lush and healthy soon again. And your view is fantastic!

  11. That unnamed storm seemed to wreak some havoc, Mary! And the amount of rain we’ve been having! Incredible.It is a good thing, I know, but the poor coconuts. The sacrifice they make for me to have a view…

  12. I will send him in the morning with a camera so you can see. I think the beach is fine, but getting down to it – a bit treacherous! You may have to parachute onto the beach, Meghan… but not sure how you will get back up. Mountain climb?

  13. Patty, please thank Ruth from all of us for signing the petition for no customs duty on art supplies – I discovered her name on the list yesterday. Just went over it again before Dionne Benjamin-Smith takes it to the PM.
    If you guys think it looks devastating now – you should have been here right after Irene, before the big clean up. And all of us were just so happy that our houses were intact, most people didn’t really worry about the landscape. It will grow back.

  14. I will convey your collective thanks, Brigitte, but Ruth subscribes to my blog so she may well see your comment herself. I think that’s how it works!
    I hope the PM receives it well, and gives all the poor, starving artists a break!!

    I agree, it is most important the houses are fine, and they tended to be except for a few – including that interesting one that someone has suggested to us was built only to collect the insurance on it when it slides into the ocean!
    But my passionfruit!!
    It was a tiny shoot in April 2010, and it was a phenomenal canopy in July 2011. So that means 15 months need to pass by us for us to have her back again. And that’s a long time. sniff…

Comments are closed.