Thanksgiving – the food

I know that in the US Thanksgiving is pretty much the largest holiday of all – the one where more people fly or drive home to be with family than any other. A good time to not be at an airport!

But in Canada it is much more low-key. It technically falls on a Monday, but most people will celebrate on the Sunday and use Monday as a day of relaxation. But since both Meghan and Rudi were flying on Sunday, Rudi’s sister had the meal on Monday.

She’s a really good cook! So it is a pleasure to go to her house to enjoy food.

I had made her some blackberry (fresh-picked!) balsamic vinegar as a gift.

Here’s the gravy bubbling away as the turkey stands for a bit before carving.

My lover got to do the carving!

Yum.
Now I don’t love turkey, and I’ve learned that a lot of people don’t. But Frederike’s turkey was delicious1

Here are a few dishes of Frederike’s spiced mandarin cranberry sauce. Yum.

We’d also brought a cornucopia of flowers as a table centrepiece.

But the food was the star!

Sweet potatoes – this year with mini marshmallows.
Frederike also served apple cider – mine was straight, the others had a bit of fermentation, much like the first Thanksgiving.

Smashed potatoes.

Slowly the table fills…

There’s the dressing/stuffing and the Brussels sprouts.
(Apparently it is stuffing when you cook it in the bird, and dressing if you don’t. I never thought about that!)

Here’s Rudi’s dad’s plate. This is before he added everything to it. It grew.

Here is mine. And guess what? My tummy revolted and I had pain for about 36 hours. Too complex for me for now.

Dessert! An apple and a pumpkin pie.
Now I am usually a pumpkin fan, but this apple pie was phenomenal. Frederike says it was, in part, due to it being made about 75% with the Spartan apples from her apple tree.

This was my plate.
I shouldn’t have. But I did. Freshly whipped cream? My goodness.

On the way home the temps had dropped a bit, it was spitting some occasional rain, and as we passed the Salish Sea – which is what the Straights of Juan de Fuca and Georgia are called (and I think this is right) – we noticed a rainbow!

A perfect end to a lovely day!

My gratefuls – That Rudi’s sister is a wonderful cook who watches the Food Network! That we had a really nice day with family. That Truffles celebrated her very first Thanksgiving with us, though we learned she is not a fan or roast turkey. That the sliver of sunlight illuminating one wee island and making a rainbow happened at the exact moment that we drove by, allowing us that treat.

~ by photokunstler on 13 October 2011.

10 Responses to “Thanksgiving – the food”

  1. I am thankful that you had such a lovely day. And your pictures of food are always so perfect…I don’t know how you do that.

  2. Thank you SS!
    We’ve missed you – hope you’re working on a great novel!!

    I just shoot the food. I like natural light, always. And it helps to have some good cooks to prepare it first. Then – eat! 🙂

  3. I have missed writing to everyone! I’m just working, which is not as good as working on a novel.

  4. So my envisioning you slumped over a keyboard with sweat on your brow pouring out your heart and soul isn’t happening.
    Darn!

    Maybe one day!!

  5. No, your vision is correct – I’m just writing responses to human services proposals instead of the greatest novel of all time. But, as they say in the islands, soon come.

  6. Yes. Trust that.

  7. Everything looks SO pretty! I can just imagine the nice smells coming from it all. :~) I hope next year you can fill your plate as full as you want.

  8. Thanks Judy!
    It was nummy, the things that I tasted. And the fragrances in the house, the warmth on a grey and damp day – very romantic!
    I hope next year that I have more choices too!!

  9. What a fantastic day to remember, and you have pictures to share.

  10. Yes, and at their age every day with them is a gift!!

Comments are closed.