Vernon’s Store

As I look more and more toward home each day, I browse my photos and am reminded of the people and places we miss whenever we step off that wee cay.

Vernon’s Store is one place. Vernon and his wife, Bobbi, are two of the people we love and miss.

Vernon is a descendant of the woman who settled our cay, a few generations and a few hundred years back. Bobbi is his bride. They work six days a week in the store, and on the seventh, they don’t rest. Vernon is our lay minister in the Methodist Church, and Bobbi is the sometimes organist. Together they are the heart and soul of that church, and their openness, caring and sharing drew us into their warm arms, and we became members of St. James this summer.

And one of their greatest attributes is their sense oh humour, and it is reflected in their store. On the shelves, doors, everywhere!

Oh, and did I tell you that Vernon makes a heck of a key lime pie, coconut pie, breads… he is amazing!

Customers contribute these too.

It makes shopping a lot of fun!

🙂

Funny, but true…

Do you have a cool quotation that I can take home to Vernon?

Let me know! I’d love to share some with the two of them, and their customers!

My gratefuls – That Meghan lands today! That we may have Thai food tonight. That we got some lovely gifts for the people in Japan today, real Canadiana, and Rudi bought me two pairs of gorgeous earrings and – the owner of the store (one of my faces in Sidney, Tivoli) gave me a beautiful scarf as a gift!

~ by photokunstler on 6 October 2011.

10 Responses to “Vernon’s Store”

  1. Got a good laugh over the signs today, thanks for that! 😀

  2. Thank you Munira!
    Do you have any “signs” for me to make for Vernon? Any pithy sayings? 🙂

  3. I always wonder where he finds them all – some of them are truly funny and others are something to think about. I would have to spend hours on the internet!!

  4. I think people bring them to him as gifts!
    He does have a little book published with the sayings in it – have you seen it?
    We bought one on our first visit.
    I’d love to find some new ones for him, but no one has suggested any!

  5. How about…
    ‘Ten years ago, we had Steve Jobs, Bob Hope and Johnny Cash.
    Now we have no Jobs, no Hope, and no Cash.’

  6. Here’s another:
    ‘No matter how old you are, no matter how badass you think you are, if a toddler hands you their ringing toy phone, you answer it.’ 😀

  7. Okay, this one’s really funny.
    ‘Never hold your farts in! They travel up your spine, into your brain, and that’s where shitty ideas come from!’

    (I’m on a roll now Patty, you don’t know what you’ve started!)

  8. That is really funny!!
    I am glad you’re on a roll – then I have more funny quotations to take home!! 🙂

  9. How true! How funny!

  10. Meghan read this to me last night. That is too true, eh?

Comments are closed.