on the downward slide to home I compare my home with my visiting place…

Well, as I turn my back on this visit to Canada and look forward to returning to our home in the Bahamas, and counting the days (we’re closer to our leaving than to our arriving)… I start comparing. I know it isn’t fair to BC, or is it? I think BC has a beauty of its own, the wild Pacific Northwest. But then the pure and simple magnificence of the Abacos are kind of hard to beat!

I wonder which will come out on top…

The underwater life:

and

For which would you rather dive?

Fresh-picked blackberries

or beautiful fresh-picked passion fruit?

The great big car and people ferry

or the little people ferry?

Marinas

and boats.

A warm coastline

or a cool one?

A nice, warm cup of tea (and that darned delicious marzipan cream roll)

or a margarita at On Da Beach…

Pretty sailboats

or pretty sailboats.

A big hill

Or THE big hill (and the infamous Boxcar Derby!).

Pretty sunrises

and

Flying in is an interesting contrast.

I think you can tell which location is which.

And the views…

Well…

Um…

Well, I guess there’s not much of a contest.

I am grateful that I get to live in paradise. That I get to visit a lovely area of Canada. That I had a steak and kidney pie! That I had a watercolour lesson and completed my very interesting Bahamian flower (which I will share with you soon). That I slept about ten straight hours (well, waking to snack as my tummy requires) in bed (often I head to the couch in the middle of the night) and lazed about all morning. And that I didn’t feel one iota of guilt about doing that!

~ by photokunstler on 28 September 2011.

14 Responses to “on the downward slide to home I compare my home with my visiting place…”

  1. I’d say you have the best of both worlds, Patty. The beautiful and spectacular Pacific Northwest for the three “H” season (heat, humidity and that word we don’t put mouth on if we can help it) and Elbow Cay the rest of the year. And being able to walk into an art store, borrow books from a large library, eat raspberries and blackberries, and shop farmers markets full of end of summer produce. Yes, I love the West, north and south (in September only), and I do readily admit, even with no phone at present, a sick golf cart, and lots to attend to around my home, I am mighty glad to be here!!! See you in a few short weeks!!!!!! Look forward to seeing your painting.

  2. Those are some tough choices. How about the marzipan desserts on the beach in the Abacos, with sailboats in the background? Your pictures and stunning and I’m always grateful when I have a snippet of internet that allows me to see them.

  3. Good thing you don’t have to decide, you lucky duck you! Both places are wonderful, and great photos, Patty!!

  4. Both are beautiful – how wonderful for you that you have both. Love, Mar

  5. Oh, thank you. Both are so beautiful, but I’d still pick the Abacos. You have made me homesick and I don’t even live there yet.

  6. I think I am beginning to feel a bit homesick. Now, if only I could take back the art supply store with me!

  7. True, they both have their beauty and advantages, and disadvantages.

  8. Ha! Well, we do have to decide – mostly on how long to visit the parents. Rudi votes for almost never. I vote for – come on, it would be nice to visit on your mom’s 95th birthday!
    But Rudi is an Abaconian through and through. I still have a bit of connection to family.

  9. I love that collage, Cornelia! I’d take those marzipan desserts anywhere, actually!
    I am glad you had a snippet of internet time too. And you know you’re in my thoughts and prayers as you head off on the next leg of your worldwide tour! Fair winds, following seas to the Gromiteers!

  10. Thanks Mary!
    I agree, there is much we can tolerate when we’re in paradise, eh? As long as the AC is working right now, life is good!
    I do love the art supply stores (we have THREE!) and the bookstores here are too numerous to count (although I worry about buying books and getting them home, they’re so heavy). There’s a farmer’s market in MH, remember, and that ought to just grow and grow. And we do have Maxwell’s, which is a godsend!
    It is great to enjoy two such beautiful places. And no, I don’t mind doing our visiting during “HHH” season!

  11. Oh my, the choices, you made me sure think about the sea of tranquility with the sun and warm waters! I am so glad you are feeling better, sleeping better, and eating better! I cannot wait to see your watercolor….RaeDi

    You do get to live in two wonderful worlds!

  12. I guess I could have two less attractive, or resonant, choices, eh? 🙂
    Thanks RaeDi!
    I think the watercolour is coming… on Wednesday morning!

  13. Was it passion fruit you have in your freezer….RaeDi

  14. It sure is, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!! We do. Passion fruit creme brule is amazing.
    Our passion fruit vine was knocked about a bit in Hurricane Irene, and she’s been cleaned up… and now we pray she grows again and flourishes!

Comments are closed.