out and about in Sidney

It isn’t unusual to see great cars here. The weather is reasonable enough all the time that they have no need to salt the roads. It is very cool to see cars, all cars, generally clean and shining, on the roads. In Ottawa cars are filthy, worse in winter and spring (from the salt and sand and yuck), but they tend to look yucky most of the time for some reason.

I’ve run into car clubs with magnificent antique cars (this time last year) from all across Canada. And on the beautiful sunny days you’ll actually see a wonderful selection on the road.

We went to check out a doggy food store nearby, and saw this across the parking lot at a body shop.
Not sure what kind it is…

And this T-Bird looks like it needs a new paint job, but will be beautiful once it is done.

At the food store we were greeted by Thomas. I thought he was a mop!

He’s a Pomeranian/Shitz tzu – is that a Schizeranian?
Anyway, he’d just gotten his dinner and he wasn’t interested in Truffles finding out where it was, so it wasn’t his most social time of the day.

But he was so cute you just wanted to pick him up and snuggle him. Solid black fur with a nose sticking out. That’s it. 🙂

I wanted to show you the back of the Star Cinema, our wee movie theatre in Sidney. It is the white building in the background. I wanted you to get an idea of its size.

Here is City Hall, or Town Hall, since Sidney isn’t a city. Here also is a wee Havanese working on learning the command, “Come.”

We’ve learned a secret about her.

She’d do anything, and I mean ANYTHING, for a carob chip. A. NE. THING.
I am planning to do a short video of her being totally obnoxious with Rudi when she knows the carob is around. We’ve just learned this. I can see how it will be great for training! I ran her through her paces tonight with the commands she knows – sit, please, up, down, wait, stay, etc. and we will want to work on control. She did everything. All at once. At the same time. PLEEEEEEEEAAAAAASSSSSSSEEEE just give me the carob!


Wow. That’s motivation!

We don’t have loads of traffic at this end of Vancouver Island unless – the ferry is a few km from Sidney. You have to leave the ferry and head south 20 minutes to get into Victoria. And at ferry times (the one from Vancouver-Victoria mostly, as it is huge) – forget driving into Victoria. It will take forever.

There are signs on the road letting people know their odds of making the ferry to Vancouver. Looks like the 5pm ferry is 70% full.

I often wonder where all the people come from, going back and forth from “Victoria” to Vancouver enough times to fill a ferry. One of life’s mysteries…

Ah, I shot the black petunias again. Here’s one photo. I am not sure these are the colours I’d choose to go into a red planter…

But then no one has asked me to do the floral arranging on Beacon Avenue in Sidney.

My gratefuls – Well, the Haagen-Dazs last night is worth a mention. A great husband who takes better care of me than I do myself, even when I don’t want him to because I want to eat something that I probably shouldn’t. My crazy carob-freaking dog. Crushed pineapple. Apple cider vinegar with maple syrup. And that the in-laws are coming for dinner Friday, even though it will be take-out since no one has energy to cook this week. And that they don’t care! And just want to be with us. 🙂

~ by photokunstler on 22 September 2011.

6 Responses to “out and about in Sidney”

  1. A Schitzeranian? Too funny!
    And isn’t that nice to have relatives that don’t care what they get fed, just as long as they can be in your presence?
    But what’s this about apple cider vinegar with maple syrup? I need to know, I like both.
    We are going into HT by cart today, will stop by your house on the way.
    Have a lovely day, y’all!

  2. Thank you for the little tour! Thomas and Truffles look like a pair of mops. I’d love to see Truffles doing all her tricks at once. You sound better – I hope you’re feeling better!

  3. Yes, they’re surely good people.
    And to balance out the tummy juices, organic apple cider vinegar (1 Tbsp.) with some maple syrup (the real stuff, to taste) and a splash of water – very nice!

    Thank you for stopping by the house! Kiss HT for me.

  4. Truffles is great with tricks. And Meghan fashions herself a dog trainer – and she will be here while Rudi is in Japan. If you recall the video of Meghan getting Truff to roll over, I expect more of the same while she is here. She is a tough taskmaster though, so I need to be there to ask her to go easy. Right Meghan?

    I am feeling better every day. I think I will swear by this ACV and maple syrup!! I hope you’re heading uphill too… and sleeping well.

  5. So cute!

    The top car looked at first like a 1957 Chevy Bel Air. But on second glance it doesn’t look ‘plump’ enough if that makes any sense.

    Funny how light the traffic is. Someday I’d like to live in a place like that, where it wouldn’t be so noisy and congested. Someday!

  6. Ah, you know your cars!
    I’ve enlarged the photo, and the side looks like it says Chieftan?

    Anyway, there’s is traffic, horrific traffic, when the ferry lets out – then it is a parking lot here! For a while.

Comments are closed.