lunch at the Sidney Pier

Rudi’s brother and sister-in-law are visiting family for the beginning of this week They’re on holiday in Vancouver (from Scotland) as they await the birth of their second grandbaby. And, since we wanted some time alone with them, we invited them to lunch at my favourite place in Sidney – the Sidney Pier’s upscale restaurant, Haro’s.

This is where we have our college’s annual Autumn School, and Rudi will be teaching there this Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

Haro’s has a nice menu, and as all of the decent restaurants in Sidney, or Victoria, or even BC – they try for local, organic, etc.food sources. I am working my way through the menu!

Here’s Eric deep in thought/conversation with his brother. I noticed they both talk with their hands. He’s has a PhD in genetics.

Brigitte and I mostly watched the two of them go at it.

Everyone, but me, had a variation of the same lunch special. I had their tuna tataki. Raw fish goes very easy on the digestive system, so this was an appetizer, but the perfect size for my entree.

Brigitte had the organic greens with her soup of the day, which was a vegetable onion.

And the guys both had the soup du jour with the sandwich du jour, a Reuben, or Montreal smoked meat sandwich with a Dijon aioli, sauerkraut and more.

I cannot tell you how frustrated/silly I am not to have shot our desserts!! I had the creme brule with lavender honey, Brigitte the flour less chocolate cake and Eric the berry crisp with vanilla ice cream. Rudi finished mine and Eric’s! (He knows better than to order dessert when there are so many coming to the table, and he always manages to get something.)

The only sad part – staring into the lovely kitchen and missing Kelsey. It looks like a very nice kitchen, and they turn out some nummy food!

My gratefuls – That we got a visit in with Eric and Brigitte. That the brought us a bottle of single malt Scotch the size of the Entire State Building in NYC (not sure what I will do with it, but being Scottish I figure I might learn to sip it). That the tuna worked well with my still tender digestive tract. That I got to go to the grocery store last night and that I got to pick lots and lots of goodies (healthy goodies) that Rudi hasn’t brought home to date. That we found a really delicious kefir. And that I slept last night pretty well and didn’t even schedule the blog to be posted!

~ by photokunstler on 20 September 2011.

10 Responses to “lunch at the Sidney Pier”

  1. You are making me hungry – Tuna, my most favourite fish. Are these all from the new camera? What did you get? Colours are good and the photos are nice and crisp. You have a Brigitte in your family – how about that, even spelled the right way!!!

  2. Tuna is my have too!
    And of course, doesn’t every family have a Brigitte? πŸ™‚
    I got a tiny Canon 300HS Elph or something. It had decent reviews, but I can tell it isn’t my $5000 camera!

  3. You and I have such similar palates. Are you a full-blown Scot, or is it your heritage? It’s my heritage as well. In fact, I just discovered the origins of my Mother’s maiden name a few nights ago when i was surfing around the interwebz. I could help you with the single-malt πŸ™‚ BTW, I didn’t know that Havanese don’t bark. CAN they bark, but they just…don’t?

  4. Well, I am technically a Wopscotch. But since my mom raised me and the only relatives I really ever knew were the Scottish ones, I do feel more Scottish than Italian. Although I always told people I was half Scottish and half Italian – waist down was Italian…
    My mom’s maiden name is purity and justice! For all! πŸ™‚
    What does your mom’s name mean?

    Havs don’t generally feel a need to bark. They’re pretty cool that way. After having a Westie, who was wired the whole time my first marriage was wired, our ears were ready for a change (although Maggie evolved into a totally happy and quiet beast once I did!). People would ask if we had a new dog.

    And – come on up and drink my Scotch! I can’t imagine it would help our tummies…

  5. What joyful photos!

    And the way we (probably ‘wee’ too) Scots consume Scotch is with a wee splash of purified or good spring water. No ice or anything else.

  6. Well, you’ll have to come over, Heather, and help us out! πŸ™‚

  7. All the old aunties and grannies in my family drink Scotch, and they’ve all lived to healthy ripe old ages, close to 100 or more.

  8. My grandfather too… though I think he died in his 70s or low 80s?
    My Scottish great aunt who lived to 98 never had a drop!

  9. Your tuna looks wonderful! Everything… I love onion soup! Does everyone is Rudie’s family have those beautiful blue eyes? My grandfather had the same but a lot lighter as does my first born. You all are always so happy! That is good, one way of being on the other side of pain! ….RaeDi

  10. You’re right, RaeDi. Pain is diminished when you’re happy, and with people you love.
    And yes, I can’t think of anyone in Rudi’s family who doesn’t have those eyes. Those Dutch!! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.