seen in Sidney – black flowers?

Yes, they were black flowers. Petunias.
I iPhone shot them for you.

Looked pitch black to us – enough to make us stop in our tracks and check them out.

We’ve had flowers of every conceivable colour, shape, size… but I can’t say I’ve ever had black, not in any garden. These Petunias debuted in 2010, while we were busy in the Bahamas, so I guess we missed their coming out party.

So what do you think? Glorious? Morbid? Could you/would you incorporate black into your next garden’s colour scheme?

Apparently the buzz on these flowers is overwhelmingly positive. Check this page for more photos – Are you ready for a black Petunia?
And I do like the black and white in the steel bucket – Black Velvet Petunia and Euphorbia.

It seems the ones in the garden on Sidney’s street are the “Pinstripe” and “Phantom.” Interesting, I have to say!

My gratefuls today – Mark, my chiro, thank you and maybe I will sleep tonight. Rudi, who humours me so well when I have no idea what I want. Truffles. ‘Nuff said. For wonderful juices with coconut water. Vitamin D Drops. Our new Levolor shade that is room-darkening and that opens top down or bottom up, allowing us to enjoy all of the amazing trees here while we visit, but not allowing anyone below/beneath to see in. What’ll they think of next? After black flowers… not sure!

~ by photokunstler on 13 September 2011.

10 Responses to “seen in Sidney – black flowers?”

  1. They must be really hard to photograph, especially with the sun making everything else so bright…they probably look like black velvet.
    Good deal about your chiro visit, I am hoping for more good sleeps. And more good photos.

  2. Love those Levelors! And I have room in my (dream this year) garden for a black corner, so this is good to know about! Hugs to you.,

  3. They’re too much fun, but I have to keep remembering which side’s string makes it up and down, and which makes it bottom and top!
    Now I can’t wait to see how your garden looks next year!

  4. They look just like black velvet. Wish I had the real camera and not the iPhone’s camera, but my arm won’t support it yet!
    Watercolour lesson continues today!

  5. What is it they say? Come hail or high water….? You will keep blogging and painting and taking pictures won’t you? What a resilient woman you are! *touch wood*

    Well, I think black, green and white are a striking combination, and would add a lot of interest in a garden….I’d love to have a pot of these for sure!
    And I would kill for top down blinds….what a cool thing! The developed world sure seems like a fun place….

  6. In North America it is a bit rougher – “hell or high water.” And I hope to be resilient – I found out I don’t bounce, so that’s good to know!

    I’ll try to get better shots of the black flowers on a slightly overcast day, if we ever have one. they are pretty interesting flowers!

    We head to our semi-developed world in a month or so, which can be a challenge sometimes. But we love it.
    It is hard for me not to be able to run out for a chunk of cilantro, or a cartridge for the printer… but to have to plan it on the once-monthly trip to the bigger island (still only semi-developed) on the ferry, renting a car or a taxi ($50-60 either choice)…

  7. Watercolour lessons today…ohhh, neat. Good thing you are right handed. Have fun.
    You must teach Rudi to use the big camera, or get another one of those little ones like mine…they are good for a LOT of things (like sticking into your jeans pockets and taking on a walk.

  8. I am so glad I am right-handed Brigitte – you have no idea!

    And I have a small point-and-shoot camera, if you can believe it. But I also had two. So I was packing in August and I thought – why bring three cameras? One was a gift for Kelsey. One is my mini-underwater Canon.And I am never (usually) without the real camera.

    Now I know why I need to pack three cameras!

  9. I love it, I have black iron trellis and planters in some of my gardens and walk-through, with all the colored plants and vines I think the black flowers would stick out with the black iron, I too have a all white garden, I love the way it looks in full moon, it glows, but if you had a black and white garden it could be the evening (dress) garden, put a table in there with candle light (she says with smile on face)… I am one who thinks black is a good color for accents, always have! Would love to see them in person. Hope you are feeling better, nothing seems to slow you down for long! ….RaeDi

  10. Great ideas, Rae Di. I’ve always liked yellow and black and white. That’d be nice in a garden with the glow of candles!!

    We have a phenomenal granite in the bathrooms here and it demands black accents. So the throw rugs and towels and things are – black!

Comments are closed.