sketch of a Hibiscus

one of the things that gives me boundless pleasure when i am confined to bed and healing is – sketching.

i started this hibiscus a few weeks ago, and every now and then i’d pick it up and work on it. i am thinking that this will be my next watercolour painting. i love the soft peachy tones. so, we’ll see!

i had my assistant shoot this for you, since i am back to square one on being able to lift my left arm to focus and zoom. sheesh! he shot it around sunset, hence the bluish cast. i liked it, so i left it.

i am grateful that chemical drug #3, which is not taken orally (i won’t go into detail!) actually dulls pain. incredible. i’d begun to think that all painkillers were not. not at all. oxycodone let me sleep, with much less pain. nice!

i am grateful that mark galloway is a very cool chiro who can help put bones where they belong, thus easing pain. i am grateful rudi makes such good smoothies. i am grateful that we get to watch loads of wonderful movies as rudi prepares for his three-day class in sidney on cultural literacy. i am grateful for sleep – so, so restorative.

~ by photokunstler on 10 September 2011.

8 Responses to “sketch of a Hibiscus”

  1. You know I always admire your sketches and your patience with such a difficult medium as silverpoint. At least I think that’s what it is.
    And YEAH, you finally found a drug to help and SLEEP!
    Here’s hoping to a much better day!

  2. this is just a sketch, but you’ve thought i was doing silverpoint before, so i am going to look into it, because i do love it!
    yes, one drug in suppository form so it doesn’t eat my stomach lining – i slept midnight to 9am, had a bazillion dreams and woke fun, no drug haze. so it is good to know i have those in case i need another one.
    so far my day has been spent trying to draw another rosebud and i keep stopping. but i will go through this…

  3. I am probably all wet with that name silverpoint. … if you used a hard pencil to draw with, that’s what I think it means.
    Great that you found something that agrees with you and helps – there is light at the end of the tunnel.
    Have you heard anything from and about Timou? We have no phone, and I was hoping to stop by to see him, but Amanda and Justin are back in school!
    Have a good next night… Its 6 pm here.

  4. no, there is silverpoint and i love it and am looking into doing it. it tarnishes with ago and is just lovely.

    heard only that timou and hurley did fine during irene, that’s all. i’ve emailed amanda but no responses.
    night night!!

  5. They may not have an internet connection yet…telephones are still down in many places, BTC is really falling down on the job (happens after every hurricane, because the lines are not underground)
    Also heard that you had another good night – hurrah!

  6. True, I have heard BTC is working one poor many to death?

    And no – a horrific night, up until 5am, bored and not able to sleep. I didn’t want to do a drug. So I watched television and paced and was generally a mess.

  7. This is incredible! You do have the gift… I would love to be in your art class, I know I have said that at least once before! I am so glad to hear that you have found a med and I do believe I personally know how you are taking this med and in the end it is best, I know….RaeDi

  8. Well, the Oxycodone suppository allowed me to sleep for nine straight hours, which was nice. But I don’t want to like it, so I didn’t have any last night (and so I didn’t sleep). I will go back to Melatonin and see how that goes!

Comments are closed.