out and about in Sidney

These are all iPhone shots. I can be impressed with the quality sometimes. And sometimes not!

Tanners is the new bookstore in town. They’re also the folks that are promoting all of the bookstores, and bringing in bookstores, and opening used bookstores, so that Sidney has the second most bookstores in the world! After Booktown in England. Canadians are very happy being #2!

The optometrist is in the same building as Rogers Chocolates, a local specialty. Maybe I will shoot there for you (for you, of course), one day.
I like that Sidney has lots of benches, for people to sit and rest, chat, wait.

The blackberry pickers. Well, one is the official sniffer.

Yum.
These will be used in a blackberry coulis over vanilla ice cream on our Sunday Brunch for Rudi’s family.

There’s only one sausage Rudi’s sister can eat, and that’s the one made at this German deli, homemade and no preservatives or chemicals.

They have a lot os selection, too.

We picked up a dozen local eggs – I am making this great frittata for them. The recipe was shared with my by Ridge Goodwin, our neighbour in the Bahamas, and it was delicious. I can tell you all about it – after Sunday!

Self-portrait!

I do love their signs!

My snack for this long trip around Sidney.

And one of the bookstores – the Haunted Bookstore.

I remember this bookstore really disappointing Meghan, when she was in the ghost hunting part of her life. We really thought it might have had amazing books on hauntings and ghosts and the supernatural, and it didn’t. It just had books. I don’t even think it was haunted…

My gratefuls today – That Rudi is strong and tall and that he can carry heavy bags. That he humours me when I go into a very fancy bath store and buy bath pillows and then plan to return in a week when all the new bath shelves (to hold your wine and your book) come in. That we found everything we need to make the Sunday brunch recipes – in Canada sometimes we can’t find certain ingredients. That I found a bath pillow!

~ by photokunstler on 3 September 2011.

6 Responses to “out and about in Sidney”

  1. I think my husband would go nuts in Sidney. If he had his way, he would LIVE in a bookstore.

  2. Ah, Munira, he’d have his work cut out for him in Sidney! Some have chairs. Haven’t seen beds yet!
    But he’d have an amazing time. And then, when he was hungry or thirsty, he could visit any one of the wonderful restaurants or cafes or coffee/tea shops, or the bakeries!!
    Sustenance. For the body and the mind!

  3. Sidney has Ritter Sport chocolate, German sausages and blackberries…. guess there has to be SOME price we pay for living here!!!

  4. Even the supermarkets here have Ritter chocolate! It is everywhere, from the east to the west coast of Canada.

  5. Sidney sure is a lovey place, it looks so peaceful and I too love all the benches! Look at those sausages! Blackberries, I can tell you if you could see my fingers and T’s too you would know what we are doing…. blackberry picking, we are up to 9 quarts in the freezer. I want to make jam this year and a few other things and we diceded to keep picking until the crop folds and then use, isn’t it fun? ….RaeDi

  6. I love it! I admire all of your drive to do such wonderful things with food!! Nine quarts of berries is great!
    Sidney is wonderful, that’s for sure. Mt. Baker has never been more clear than it has this week, so we get to look at it all the time!

Comments are closed.