from hurricanes in Hope Town to street fairs in Sidney

Well, we’ve been getting some reassuring photos from Cookie Malone, manager of Firefly Resort in Hope Town. Although we didn’t plant a palm tree inside of our sea grape tree (Mother Nature has a sense of humour), and although we still haven’t had a report from our caretakers on the condition of the house, it looks fine. So we’ll go with that and hope the reports confirm. For now we can sleep at night.

Here is some video during the eye and eye wall.

With all of the stress yesterday, the waiting and worrying, I figured it would be good to take our minds for a walk. It happened to be Sidney Summer Market, the very last one of the year. This is something we’ve never taken the time to see in the past, since the prospect of 5,000 people descending on a town of fewer than 11,000 people (and that includes all of the areas surrounding Sidney (so this tiny part is maybe 5,000 people) never interested us. I mean, where would you park!?

But this time, since we could walk in…we did!

Is that an airplane sticking out there?
And a man and his dog?

Yes! And the crowds were into the side streets off Beacon Avenue.

There were food places.

A smoky one.

A hotties one.

A new age-type band that played the same 16 bars over and over and over and over and over and over…

This man had CDs of his music which, I think, had special and important messages for children. He was performing on Thursday night.

This booth said Arabian Horses, but I didn’t see any horses. Not even non-Arabians. I shot this for Meghan. Maybe she can spot an Arabian.

As for the kid juggling, I had a brilliant sense of timing! I actually shot him EVERY TIME he stopped!

Uncanny!

Ah, I think I’ve got it!

Fresh fudge.

Flower power.

Wildflower Tie Die. Well, they say what goes around, comes around. But as Rudi mentioned, the next time it comes around you’re too old to wear it!

There were a few photographers there displaying their work. Understand that I shot only maybe 1/15th of the stands there! This place was filled with vendors, lining both sides of Beacon Avenue lined and in the middle too!

This lady was selling fuzzy friends!

Fresh fruit and veggies? Likely free-range, organic, local, etc. like everything else on this island.

Some sculpture.
But look at the people! Sheesh! Never seen Sidney like this. It was interesting, though.

There were dogs everywhere, but hardly any room for them to walk safely. Not sure I’d take Truffles back again. Like next year, since this was the last one of 2011.
But it’s always good to sniff a few butts when the opportunity presents itself. I guess!

More tomorrow, since I shot a lot. Not that I loved the photos. I hate shooting in brilliant sunlight and shadows. But it beats a street fair in the rain!

In the meantime, since most of you are on a roll with the praying – how about extending them to the east coast of the US, which is next in line for Irene’s wrath? It would be very much appreciated!!

I am grateful for the opportunity to see the Sidney Summer Market this year. I am grateful that I found a nice gift for Kelsey’s Christmas box. I am grateful Truffles navigated the crowds unscathed. I am grateful Rudi stood in a line for ten minutes to buy me a bottle of water. I am grateful that Rudi walked home to grab the car to pick us up and get us to the supermarket and home in time to meet Ray the Painter. I am totally grateful that Cookie Malone, manager of Firefly Resort in Hope Town, shot loads of photos that included a bunch of the exterior of our house, allowing us to see how it fared in the hurricane.

~ by photokunstler on 27 August 2011.

4 Responses to “from hurricanes in Hope Town to street fairs in Sidney”

  1. Nice! Really got a feel of the place and the festiveness πŸ™‚ I’m mesmerised by jugglers so glad you finally got to take that photo with all the balls in the air!
    Did you try any of the fudge? πŸ™‚
    I would have bought an armload of those tie dye shirts! They all look so cheerful and bright!
    As for the storm approaching the east coast of the US, there’s loads of family and friends out there who would be affected, so really hope it does no harm! All fingers and toes crossed!

  2. Hi Munira!
    I am glad you like jugglers. This young man was quite good! But it was so crowded that I think he stopped juggling more often just to check that he wasn’t going to bonk someone on the head with a ball!

    I did not try the fudge. I LOVE fudge, especially fudge with nuts. But it was a hot night and when I am thirsty, food doesn’t call me. And you’re probably young enough to wear the tie-die without looking like an old hippie! πŸ™‚
    The hurricane sat on our house all day Thursday. Now it is off to Seasweetie’s beloved beach house and beyond, so yes, please keep everything you can cross, crossed!

  3. Wow, terrific video – it helped me understand storm surge just through the visual – that’s a concept I’ve always had a tough time wrapping my brain around. I love how you and Rudi and Truffles just shift from one island to another. You are island people, like me, even though I am landlocked. Looks like “my” house came through Irene unscatched – just like my aunt, she was a little less intimidating when you got to know her.

    The market: nom nom nom as far as fudge with nuts is concerned. I have always wanted to learn to juggle as I think we all do it so much in our lives that learning the physical skill might be helpful with the mental juggling process. Love the lavendar lady. I have been on a quest for the perfect tie-dye T-shirt for my November island sabbatical – I likely would have found it with that booth – and you are never too old to wear tie-dye! And Miss Truffles looks like the most adorable mop ever, especially in contrast to her short-haired friends.

    Thank you for all YOUR prayers and hurricane-turning energy – I truly believe it helped!

  4. I am not so naive as to think that the collective consciousness can’t have an impact. Although, I guess in the end, THY will be done surely doesn’t mean MY will be done. That’s my daily struggle! But if God ever goes on vacation I am ready to fix everything for Him. (Although I am sure it will turn into that Jim Carrey movie… “Bruce Almighty.”) The storm surge was nasty, and it is sad to see the loss of vegetation but it definitely is preferable to loss of life. By the time we get back in October we will be surprised to see how much has grown (hoping Irene doesn’t have a sibling).

    Glad to hear that Topsail came through and that your house is fine. It is so hard to wait, wonder, worry from afar.

    I really like this island, second best, although Rudi is not as in love with it. He’d tolerate it for shorter periods of time if his mom and dad weren’t here. His heart is on Hope Town, and he is very productive there. Less so here. It can be a mental block (because North America’s heading into the toilet makes him crazy) or more acute (having had to do so much to help me, from three days after we arrived in Canada, has taken a lot of time out of his life that would otherwise have been used to research and write), but he is determined not to relax yet while here. Maybe today will help, because he gets to talk with Steven. Steven is an amazing genius, funnier than Steve Martin AND Dennis Miller put together, And beyond brilliant. He delivered us some wisdom in 1997, it took maybe three years for us to “get” it, we thought we were done, and then Steven turned to page two. Now he and Rudi are on page 45 and I was left somewhere around page 21. They’ve been chatting once a week since 1997, and it is one of the high points of Rudi’s life. Thanks Steven! We get to visit Steven, and his lovely wife Abigayle, in Santa Barbara in October.

    So – if you want me to find you the perfect tie-dyed t-shirt, I can do that. Really! It would be very easy to pop into a manila envelope – IF there is one more market day this week. Let me know!

Comments are closed.