birthday presents

I got a few pieces of art this birthday, among other things (as an only child I tend to have a birth month, and tend to count anything unique that shows up from mid-May to mid-June as a birthday gift). These two very different pieces now grace the walls in our house, and bring a smile to my lips when I look at them.

The first is a black-and-white photograph by Colyn Reese, signed by him too. I love B&W. It is a shot of the Hope Town Harbour in the 1950s, and it is amazing, there aren’t too many boats in the photo, and the ones that are there are definitely not the 30-40-50-footers that fill the harbour now! This picture makes me wish I’d been able to see Hope Town the way it was in decades past.

The second piece is by Kim Rody, the artist who did the two giclees that you’ve already seen – the long horizontal of Hope Town Harbour as seen from the top of the lighthouse, and “George Wins at Bingo,” the painting that Rudi loved so well.

But one of my favourites is “Chocolate Bunny.” It is an original (finally, an original Rody!) and looking at it has made me laugh from the first moment I saw it on Kim’s website.

“Chocolate Bunny” reminds me more of the time I spent in Florida when I was young than Hope Town, but still it is great fun. This chocolate woman is surrounded by suntan lotion bottles (empty) and Kalik bottles (a great Bahamian beer, bottles also empty). It is painted on birch wood! No giclee here!

~ by photokunstler on 26 May 2010.