getting to Nassau

Sorry about the lateness of this post – it was quite the trip into Nassau!

I have to say that I am not sure I will get used to every trip off this wee cay requiring a boat, and involving water.
Here is the obligatory lighthouse shot.

And when the weather is cold cold cold cold and there’s no heating in your house and the wind is rough the water is too. The ferry bounces, even the bigger Donnies, and the spray got inside it almost to halfway up the seating. The windows kept opening and it was just COLD.

Thank goodness Sheri Lee was on the other end in Marsh Harbour, waiting to take us to the airport. She is a breath of fresh air, food for the soul.

Here’s Rudi getting ready to board our plane to Nassau. I hurry to be first so I can fly in the front right seat. That’s the closest I can get to the front left, since it has been a long time since I flew. But man, give me a plane any day over a boat.

There’s a new runway in Marsh Harbour, one that has been a long time coming, and that is much appreciated by all, especially the larger airlines.

When I fly I can’t imagine anyone who has ever been in the air dancing with the clouds, and watching the beams from the sun touch the earth, ever doubting the presence of God.

Sigh…

And in no time we’re heading into Nassau, Windsor Field, or Linden Pindling International Airport.

And since we took Abaco Air, we don’t have to go to the crazy busy terminal. We get to go to paradise, Odyssey.

Nice!

Odyssey Aviation is an FBO, which is a Fixed Base Operation on the airport grounds. They are very special (especially to me). A good FBO like this one is worth visiting instead of going into Nassau. I’d hang out there. Well, I used to hang out at one when I was a pilot (private) and that’s where I found that crazy guy that fathered my daughters.

Odyssey is where pilots sit and wait for their corporate owners or corporate big-wigs to show up again to go home or someplace else. Pilots hurry and wait. I met one today who was based in the UK, but who had just come from Helsinki (-20F) and into Nassau. Now, it was cold in Nassau but it definitely would have been an improvement.

More on Odyssey tomorrow.

~ by photokunstler on 11 January 2010.